The good,the bad and the ugly

The Good

I really enjoyed reading article “What does it all Meme” . I found it the lightest of the recommended readings this week. I liked the background info on various the meme “One does not simply.. ” It encouraged me to find out the background info on more popular memes. Check out this link which shows an update on where our favourite meme stars are today!

          Sammy the Success kid today Success

                                                    (http://thefw.com/inside-scoop-on-your-favorite-memes/)

.

eric memes

 

Kay Oddone explains that the use of memes in the classroom can help engage students. I am personally not sure how my 7 year old students would respond to memes, they are not yet on social media so I am not sure they would find the humour in them. BUT a few of my awesome colleagues who teach grade 5, 6 and 8 are using memes in great ways around their room! My fellow colleague and friend, Eric Campbell, used memes this year to display his class expectations

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Bad

The next articles this week were not as light and fun as learning about the usage of memes. This week I learned about the app Yik Yak and the forum website 4chan. I was happy to discover that my school division has blocked 4chan from students using it at school.  Though I am unsure if students in my community are aware of this website anyways.  I did not want to ask of the students, because it might make them curious and I do not think it is a great website for students to check out.

It seems like there is definitely some funny and appropriate content on 4Chan but that it is very easy to find the inappropriate threads.  As I was reading the post about 4chan, I was constantly thinking “why would people post and share such horrible things”. Near the end of the article a section was titled “But why would anyone do that”. One of the reasoning was that 4chan gives people a place to vent and say rude things that may be on their mind in a acceptable (?) forum.

“I get a lot of e-mail messages from people who say thanks for giving them a place to vent, an outlet to say what they can’t say in real life with friends and work colleagues — things that they know are wrong, but they still want to say.” (Chris Poole, 2010 – 4chan founder)

I still do not fully understand why people would post such things.. but to each their own I suppose.

The Ugly 

Finally, the last thing I learned about this week was how some teens are self trolling themselves or bullying themselves for attention.  This was the most upsetting thing I have read all week.  My online use as a teen was so innocent. I used MSN almost daily for harmless chats with friends and boys.  In Grade 12 and the beginning of high school I started using Facebook. Facebook was a lot different in those days, I don’t think you could even comment on your friends individual pictures.

I am so sad to read that teens now a days are so obsessed with the amount of likes and comments they receive on social media that they would post fake comments from a “stranger”, who is actually them self, to then hope to receive compliments or support from their peers.

This phenomenon is known as cyber self-harm (Tanith Carey, 2016).

I admit, when I post on social media (Instragram or Facebook) it is always fun to receive likes and comments from my friends.  But it has gone too far if some teens are determining their self worth based on their popularity on social media.

What can we do as teacher to help change this? Or support students who are struggling or obsessed with their online identities?

 

 

2 thoughts on “The good,the bad and the ugly

  1. Everything has multiple sides, that is why we need to view things by using a dialectic way. These online resources and apps have good points on students’ study, while they can also destroy students’ lives. Support students’ struggle or their obsession is a question.

    Like

Leave a Reply

